South Dakota/Wyoming Road Trip: Day 3

With the temperatures finally settling down to something resembling normal for September in the Black Hills, we decided to try again to do our planned hike in Custer State Park. From beautiful Sylvan Lake, we hiked to the top of Little Devils Tower. Getting up to the tower requires a little bit of climbing skill as the trail becomes nothing but paint marks in the rock that you follow as you scramble up to the top. From the top of the tower, we were rewarded with an early morning view of the surrounding terrain, including the summit of Harney Peak, the highest point in South Dakota. Our original plan was to continue on to Harney, but we felt we’d seen enough of the area and we were anxious to move on to our next destination: The Badlands. 

south dakota,badlands,black hills,little devils tower,hiking,us travel

View from Summit of Little Devils Tower

After finishing the hike, the day was still young, so we hopped in the car and traveled east to Badlands National Park. A short drive along the northern road offers the visitor stunning views of strange rock formations with bands of multiple colors in the rock faces.  Wildlife was also prevalent with lots of Bighorn Sheep and Buffalo. The views of the park became even more intense around sunset, when the setting sun set the rock faces ablaze in hues of orange and red.  We found a great spot along the main road to hang out and photograph the cliff faces lit up by the setting sun. Our empty stomachs quickly required that we look for a nearby restaurant. One thing we learned quickly: there is only one restaurant in the national park, as well as in the nearby town of Interior, and it closes at 7:00 pm. We managed to get there with minutes to spare, so we didn’t have to go to bed hungry. We feasted on yummy Navajo Tacos while watching the day’s remaining light disappear over the horizon.

south dakota,badlands,us travel,sunset,moon

Badlands at Sunset with Full Moon

About Mike

I have a passion for adventure travel that began in 1989 with my first overseas trip: climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro in Tanzania. Having never been to a foreign country, Africa felt like being on another planet; I knew then and there I was hooked on travel. Since that time, I have visited all seven continents and dozens of countries. I’m using the experience I’ve gained in planning my own trips to help my clients plan their own adventures through my adventure travel company (http://www.offtrailtravel.com). After working as a firefighter for the US Forest Service in California and Wyoming for three years, I moved to Durango, Colorado where I graduated from Fort Lewis College with a degree in accounting. After graduation I moved to the Denver area where I worked in a Big Eight accounting firm to obtain my CPA license; soon afterward I began a career as an auditor with the Colorado Department of Education. My background in accounting helped me develop detailed-oriented skills that have been extremely useful in researching and planning my own travel over the years. I think this provides a unique asset to my clients in putting together their adventure travel plans. I currently live in Golden, Colorado with my wife Valerie, who shares my love of adventure travel. I’m an active member of the Colorado Mountain Club where I lead trips for club members and have taught ski lessons in their Telemark Ski School. I enjoy skiing, mountain hiking, trail running, photography, and astronomy. I take any opportunity I can get to explore new places, whether it’s on the other side of the world or just down the road.
This entry was posted in US Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

