Enhance your travel experience with some great reading material

One of the easiest ways I’ve found to enrich my travel experience is to find some trip-specific reading material that I read before my trip or that I take along for the long flight or my evening reading pleasure.  I’ve found some great books that have enlightened me about the history of the place I am visiting and have given me a new appreciation for my chosen travel destination. And of course, the books make me start thinking about new adventures that I’d like to have in the future.

When we went to Australia (including Tasmania), I took along “English Passengers.”  Longitude Books’ description of the book: “An accomplished novel, funny yet wrenchingly serious, of cultural collision and rebellion in Tasmania in the 19th century. Its English settlers — opportunists in a land at the edge of the world — coexist less and less easily with Tasmania’s Aborigines. Winner of the UK’s Whitbread Award.”  While visiting islands in the Pacific Ocean, I read “The Bounty Trilogy” which gave me some insight into early adventurers in the area and had me really wanting to visit Pitcairn Island some time in the future.

If you’re interested in finding interesting reading material relevant to your next travel destination, I recommend visiting the Longitude Books website.  There you can input your travel destination and the website will recommend an outstanding book list.  You can order books and hard-to-find maps directly from the website.  At Longitude Books you will find a much more extensive reading list for travelers than just about any place else.

Happy reading and happy travels!

About Mike

I have a passion for adventure travel that began in 1989 with my first overseas trip: climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro in Tanzania. Having never been to a foreign country, Africa felt like being on another planet; I knew then and there I was hooked on travel. Since that time, I have visited all seven continents and dozens of countries. I’m using the experience I’ve gained in planning my own trips to help my clients plan their own adventures through my adventure travel company (http://www.offtrailtravel.com). After working as a firefighter for the US Forest Service in California and Wyoming for three years, I moved to Durango, Colorado where I graduated from Fort Lewis College with a degree in accounting. After graduation I moved to the Denver area where I worked in a Big Eight accounting firm to obtain my CPA license; soon afterward I began a career as an auditor with the Colorado Department of Education. My background in accounting helped me develop detailed-oriented skills that have been extremely useful in researching and planning my own travel over the years. I think this provides a unique asset to my clients in putting together their adventure travel plans. I currently live in Golden, Colorado with my wife Valerie, who shares my love of adventure travel. I’m an active member of the Colorado Mountain Club where I lead trips for club members and have taught ski lessons in their Telemark Ski School. I enjoy skiing, mountain hiking, trail running, photography, and astronomy. I take any opportunity I can get to explore new places, whether it’s on the other side of the world or just down the road.
This entry was posted in Travel Inspiration, Travel Tips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Enhance your travel experience with some great reading material

  1. Darrel says:

    We agree! Thanks for the shout out to Longitude Books. Did you notice? We now have a blog at longitudebooks.com/blog with an RSS feed for Book of the Week, A Favorite Place and other travel content for parter sites

Leave a Reply

