Return to Hawaii…The Big Island: A Visit to Waipi’o Valley

Looking down into Waipi'o Valley

Looking down into Waipi’o Valley

When my brother and I visited the Big Island in 1997, we had driven to the north end of the island to a viewpoint looking into the spectacular Waipi’o Valley. Unfortunately, we were on our way to Hilo to catch our flight home and we didn’t have time to go down into the valley. I vowed the next time I visited the island, I would take the time to explore this isolated corner of Hawaii.

Waipi’o means “curved water” in the Hawaiian language.  From the rim, the cliff walls drop nearly 2,000 feet to the valley floor. On one end is a beautiful black sand beach popular with surfers. The upper end of the valley is surrounded by forested cliff walls and spectacular water falls. At one time, there may have been as many as 10,000 people living in the valley; now there are fewer than 50 permanent residents, most of whom raise Taro in the moist, fertile soil.

The road into the valley is extremely steep (25% grade) and narrow and requires a 4WD vehicle in order to reach the valley. On this trip, we didn’t have the appropriate vehicle, so we hired a local guide to take us down in his van. After meeting Jeff, our guide and driver, at the Waipi’o Valley Artworks, we hopped in the van and headed down the road into the valley.

Looking out van door on way to bottom of Waipi'o Valley

Looking out van door on way to bottom of Waipi’o Valley

I can understand the need for a 4WD vehicle on this road. Without a 4WD’s ability to gear down, you could easily overheat the brakes of a regular car. This wasn’t the worst road I’ve ever been on, but it was extremely narrow, making it a challenge when you have to get around someone coming the other way. Jeff left the sliding door to the van open, making for a spectacular, if not dizzying, view looking down the cliff wall into the valley bottom as we traversed the narrow road.

Taro Field in Waipi'o Valley

Taro Field in Waipi’o Valley

At the bottom, we passed by numerous settlements while Jeff told us about the inhabitants and some interesting stories of their lives in the valley.  Waipi’o Valley is incredibly lush with thick rainforest interspersed with Taro plantations. At one end of the valley, we stopped for a nice view of a spectacular waterfall cascading down the side of the valley wall.

Waterfall in Waipi'o Valley

Waterfall in Waipi’o Valley

At the end of the road, we stopped again to briefly walk around and take pictures before getting back in the van for the ride back up the steep, narrow road. We passed several people who had hiked down into the valley and were now struggling back up the road under their own power. I like a good challenge, but I was glad to let someone drive me to the bottom, and was especially happy to be hauled back up.

The tour was short (about two hours), but we really enjoyed seeing this magnificent valley up close while learning about its flora and fauna, history, and the colorful folks that still live here. I waited 15 years to finally get my chance to descend into Waipi’o Valley; it was worth the wait.

Crossing the river in Waipi'o Valley

Crossing the river in Waipi’o Valley

About Mike

I have a passion for adventure travel that began in 1989 with my first overseas trip: climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro in Tanzania. Having never been to a foreign country, Africa felt like being on another planet; I knew then and there I was hooked on travel. Since that time, I have visited all seven continents and dozens of countries. I’m using the experience I’ve gained in planning my own trips to help my clients plan their own adventures through my adventure travel company (http://www.offtrailtravel.com). After working as a firefighter for the US Forest Service in California and Wyoming for three years, I moved to Durango, Colorado where I graduated from Fort Lewis College with a degree in accounting. After graduation I moved to the Denver area where I worked in a Big Eight accounting firm to obtain my CPA license; soon afterward I began a career as an auditor with the Colorado Department of Education. My background in accounting helped me develop detailed-oriented skills that have been extremely useful in researching and planning my own travel over the years. I think this provides a unique asset to my clients in putting together their adventure travel plans. I currently live in Golden, Colorado with my wife Valerie, who shares my love of adventure travel. I’m an active member of the Colorado Mountain Club where I lead trips for club members and have taught ski lessons in their Telemark Ski School. I enjoy skiing, mountain hiking, trail running, photography, and astronomy. I take any opportunity I can get to explore new places, whether it’s on the other side of the world or just down the road.
This entry was posted in US Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Return to Hawaii…The Big Island: A Visit to Waipi’o Valley

  1. las artes says:

    The hike down into the valley takes about ½ an hour. Allow twice that again for exploration of the valley floor and beach and at least an hour to walk back up. Be ever vigilant when walking on the road; local drivers will not deign to give you right of way and tourist drivers are notoriously at the very edge of loosing control. To reach the beach, simply stroll down the road; near where the road hits the valley floor, there is an intersection…take the road to your right (toward the ocean) which goes along public access to the beach and a spectacular 300 foot waterfall.

Leave a Reply

