Return to Hawaii…The Big Island: A Look into Hawaiian History

The Big Island is rich in history.  Along the west coast there are several archeological sites where we were able to get a glimpse of how the ancient Hawaiians lived.

Lapakahi State Historical Park

Lapakahi State Historical Park

Our first visit was to the restored fishing village found in the Lapakahi State Historical Park.  The park is found along the Akoni Pule Highway (Highway 270) in the North Kohala District. The village dates back 600 years and sits above an idyllic cove along the rugged pacific coast. There’s a one mile self guided trail where you can learn about the lives of the people who once lived here. It got pretty hot the morning we were there and the waters of the nearby cove looked so inviting for a quick swim. But the rugged waves crashing against the rocky shore made that an ill-advised thing to do.

Puukohola Heiau National Historic Site

Puukohola Heiau National Historic Site

Just a few miles south of Lapakahi is the Puukohola Heiau National Historic Site.  Here you can learn about the life of the great Hawaiian king Kamehameha. The highlight of the park is the magnificent Heiau (temple) built by Kamehameha to the war-god Kukailimoku. He built this magnificent structure in the hopes of bringing the Hawaiian islands together as one people. I just happened to find the park while swimming at nearby Spencer Beach State Park. The beach was crowded and the swimming wasn’t all that great, so I decided to go for a little walk and before long I was walking in the footsteps of the great king around his great temple. The architecture of the structure is magnificent with no mortar used to hold the stones together. The view from the temple looking out into the Pacific is magnificent. Standing here, you understand why the king picked this spot for his majestic temple.

Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park

Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park

Along the southern coast in the Kona District we visited the Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park. Here is one of the most sacred sites in all of Hawaii. The well-preserved village was the home to Hawaiian royalty and was a place of refuge where those who broke sacred laws (kapu) could seek sanctuary and redemption. There’s an easy 1/2 mile walking tour that winds around the wooden structures, statues, and stone walls under the welcome shade of palm trees. You can even learn to play the traditional Hawaiian game of Konane on a replica of the stone surface (Papamu) where the pebbles used for this game are arranged. We also spotted a turtle on the beach here.

Canoe at Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park

Canoe at Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park

The Big Island isn’t just beaches and volcanoes. The area is rich in history;  it’s worth taking a little time off from working on your tan to learn about the lives of the ancient Hawaiians who once dominated this land.

Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park

Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park

About Mike

I have a passion for adventure travel that began in 1989 with my first overseas trip: climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro in Tanzania. Having never been to a foreign country, Africa felt like being on another planet; I knew then and there I was hooked on travel. Since that time, I have visited all seven continents and dozens of countries. I’m using the experience I’ve gained in planning my own trips to help my clients plan their own adventures through my adventure travel company (http://www.offtrailtravel.com). After working as a firefighter for the US Forest Service in California and Wyoming for three years, I moved to Durango, Colorado where I graduated from Fort Lewis College with a degree in accounting. After graduation I moved to the Denver area where I worked in a Big Eight accounting firm to obtain my CPA license; soon afterward I began a career as an auditor with the Colorado Department of Education. My background in accounting helped me develop detailed-oriented skills that have been extremely useful in researching and planning my own travel over the years. I think this provides a unique asset to my clients in putting together their adventure travel plans. I currently live in Golden, Colorado with my wife Valerie, who shares my love of adventure travel. I’m an active member of the Colorado Mountain Club where I lead trips for club members and have taught ski lessons in their Telemark Ski School. I enjoy skiing, mountain hiking, trail running, photography, and astronomy. I take any opportunity I can get to explore new places, whether it’s on the other side of the world or just down the road.
This entry was posted in US Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

