Icelandic Road Trip: Geysers and Waterfalls

Nice, leisurely day getting up late to help alleviate any residual jet lag. Today, we visited two of Iceland’s most popular attractions: Geysir and Gullfoss Falls. Both of these were just a few minutes drive time from our apartment hotel in Laugarvatn, which left us additional time just to drive around and check out the scenery.

Geysir (pronounced “gay_seer”) is Iceland’s version of old faithful. Unfortunately, Geysir itself is no longer faithful since some dumb tourist tossed some rocks in the hole causing the geyser eruption, according to a sign in the park, to be limited to those times during earthquakes. Fortunately, right next door is the Strokkur geyser which erupts with excellent regularity every 8-10 minutes. We enjoyed hanging out by this geyser getting different photo and video angles during each blast.

IMG_2608

 

IMG_2609IMG_2610IMG_2611

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our next stop of the morning was the awesome Gulfoss waterfalls. The falls are in a two-step pattern:  The upper portion plunges gently through a wide opening; the lower section drops sharply into a narrow ravine. The sound from the combination of these two forces is deafening. There’s a trail that takes you down to the transition between the two sets of falls; the upper trail goes along the top of the cliff above the entire falls giving you a great view across and down the river.

Gulfoss

Gulfoss

After taking copious numbers of pictures and videos of Gulfoss, we had some time to kill the rest of the afternoon, so we decided to explore the sights on a lonely road that went deep into the heart of the Icelandic interior. Along the way we found another spectacular waterfall, as well as a re-recreation of an Icelandic village that had been destroyed in a volcanic eruption in the 1,100’s. The road took us along a broad river valley where the country had built a large hydroelectric dam. We thought it odd that in the same area where this massive hydroelectric power generation system was installed, they also put up two wind turbines also used for generating electricity. Why would you put in this massive hydro system, then add a couple of little wind turbines? We were confused. Anyway, through occasional breaks in the clouds, we got a glimpse of the mighty Hekla volcano off in the distance. If all goes well, in two days we would be riding a snow cat to the top of this magnificent mountain.

On the way back to Lauvargatn, we made another slight detour to visit an old church that has a small museum in its basement. This tiny museum had artifacts from previous churches dating back hundreds of years. The center attraction was a large rock coffin used to bury a bishop. Also in the museum were some tombstones with unique carvings. The little museum was good for about 15 minutes, and that was pretty much it.

 

Here’s a very short video of the erupting geysers in Geysir:
 

About Mike

I have a passion for adventure travel that began in 1989 with my first overseas trip: climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro in Tanzania. Having never been to a foreign country, Africa felt like being on another planet; I knew then and there I was hooked on travel. Since that time, I have visited all seven continents and dozens of countries. I’m using the experience I’ve gained in planning my own trips to help my clients plan their own adventures through my adventure travel company (http://www.offtrailtravel.com). After working as a firefighter for the US Forest Service in California and Wyoming for three years, I moved to Durango, Colorado where I graduated from Fort Lewis College with a degree in accounting. After graduation I moved to the Denver area where I worked in a Big Eight accounting firm to obtain my CPA license; soon afterward I began a career as an auditor with the Colorado Department of Education. My background in accounting helped me develop detailed-oriented skills that have been extremely useful in researching and planning my own travel over the years. I think this provides a unique asset to my clients in putting together their adventure travel plans. I currently live in Golden, Colorado with my wife Valerie, who shares my love of adventure travel. I’m an active member of the Colorado Mountain Club where I lead trips for club members and have taught ski lessons in their Telemark Ski School. I enjoy skiing, mountain hiking, trail running, photography, and astronomy. I take any opportunity I can get to explore new places, whether it’s on the other side of the world or just down the road.
This entry was posted in International Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

